Ambulance Services FY 27
Justification. Posted by FCI PEKIN. No response date stated.
Read from the SAM.gov opportunities API, checked every hour. The original notice is linked at the foot of this page.
The notice as published
| Field | As posted |
|---|---|
| Notice type | Justification |
| Solicitation number | 15B41127P00000001 |
| Posted | Oct 27, 2026 |
| Responses close | not stated |
| Buying office | FCI PEKIN |
| Department | JUSTICE, DEPARTMENT OF |
| NAICS | 485999 All Other Transit and Ground Passenger Transportation |
| PSC | V225 |
| Place of performance | Pekin IL |
Shown exactly as the source published it. Where a field is blank on the notice it says so rather than being filled in.
What the buyer wrote
A sole source award has been made to Peoria Hospital Mobile Medical Services for the provision of ambulance services for the inmate population at FCI Pekin, IL for FY 27. See attached memorandum for the justification and approval of the acquisition.
Who is named on it
| Name | Role | |
|---|---|---|
| Gary Kurtz | not stated | gkurtz@bop.gov |
Published on the notice by the contracting office. Before the solicitation closes, contact is limited to the formal question process the notice describes.
Attachments
- AttachmentAttachment published with the notice.
NAICS 485999 in numbers
Federal buyers under this code are concentrated in a few offices. The Department of Transportation's Office of the Secretary (DEPT OF TRANS/OST) and the 693JK4 OST office account for the largest dollar totals, $537.66M over 108 awards and $387.49M over 35 awards. The National Institutes of Health appears in several offices, with the most awards (209 for the OLAO office alone), though those awards carry much less money. Two network contract offices, 261 and 245, also appear among the top buyers. The notice does not say how these offices choose vendors. Most awards are recorded with no set-aside (7,142) or with none recorded (4,217). Small-business set-asides appear far less often, with SBA at 859 and the other small-business codes in the low hundreds or below.
The total of $2.48B across 12,882 awards from FY2001 to FY2027 comes mostly from a relatively small number of large awards. The median award is only $12.0K, so a typical award in this code is small. Work in this code has been spread across 727 distinct vendors. The notice does not give the number of bids per award, so it does not show how much competition any single solicitation draws. A firm weighing this code should look at the size of the awards it can realistically win and at which buyers fit its capabilities, since the median and the top-buyer totals point to very different markets.
The main near-term signal is the 94 contracts worth $133.86M that end within the next 12 months. Those expirations may lead to new solicitations, but the notice does not say whether they will be recompeted, bundled, or extended. Only 2 active notices are listed now, so current openings are limited. Watch the top buyers, especially DOT/OST and the NIH offices, for new notices as those contracts near their end dates. Also watch how set-aside labels change over the year, since the notice does not say whether the current mix will hold.
Everything behind these numbers for NAICS 485999
- Every buying office that awarded in this code, ranked by what they spent
- Every vendor that won, resolved to one record per business
- Every award back to FY2001, searchable and exportable
- Contracts ending soon, scored for how open the next round looks
- Every open notice on this code, with the buyer history beside it
The numbers above are open to anybody. The organized record behind them is what a plan pays for: every award, every buyer, every vendor, cleaned, resolved and read again every night.
Everything else open under this code
3 open notices right now. The newest 5:
| Posted | Notice | Buyer | NAICS | Set-aside | Due |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 27, 2026 | Ambulance Services FY 27Justification · Pekin IL | FCI PEKIN | 485999 | not stated | |
| Oct 13, 2026 | V122--SHUTTLE SERVICE OFF-SITE LOTAward Notice | 262-NETWORK CONTRACT OFFICE 22 (36C262) | 485999 | SDVOSBC | not stated |
| Sep 4, 2026 | General Fort Leonard Wood Community Hospital Shuttle Driver Service ContractAward Notice · Fort Leonard Wood MO | W6QM MICC-FT LEONARD WOOD | 485999 | SBA | not stated |
See who was last awarded in your NAICS
Every code, every buying office, every vendor and every recompete, organized from the federal record and read nightly. Start on one code with no card. A plan opens every code.
Try the live demo The real app on one code. No email needed.